PawPulse vs SpotOn
SpotOn holds a line with optional static. Lucero trains the boundary without shock, and watches the dog.
SpotOn Nova Edition is a GPS fence listed at $999 as of September 2026, with optional static correction. PawPulse Lucero pairs fence training that uses vibration cues, never shock, with contactless heart rate and breathing monitoring that works on every coat.
PawPulse vs SpotOn at a glance
SpotOn builds a GPS fence. According to spotonfence.com, the Nova Edition warns a dog at the boundary with warning tones, then vibration, then an optional static correction with 30 levels. The fence works without a subscription, and live tracking requires a plan.
PawPulse Lucero covers the boundary with fence training that uses vibration cues, never shock, and then keeps going: contactless heart rate, heart-rate variability, and breathing monitoring that works on every coat (Kinetic sensing), breath VOC and air-quality context, Prism Insights baselines for 100+ breeds, built-in Pulse Rhythm calming, and PawPulse Care sharing with your vet. Location runs on GPS and LTE with satellite-ready backup where carrier and certification allow, all on a 28g module.
What SpotOn says
Only statements we could source to SpotOn itself or to dated owner reviews. Prices and specs are as of September 22, 2026.
- SpotOn lists the Nova Edition at $999 (spotonfence.com, accessed September 22, 2026).
- SpotOn states the Nova Edition runs at least 33 hours with tracking enabled, and lists its previous Omni Edition at 25+ hours with tracking (spotonfence.com).
- Some SpotOn owners on Trustpilot report 10 to 15 hours of battery per charge, model not stated (Trustpilot reviews dated July to September 2026).
- SpotOn's containment uses warning tones, vibration, and optional static correction with 30 levels (spotonfence.com).
- SpotOn's fence works without a subscription; live tracking requires a plan from $7.49 to $9.95 per month (spotonfence.com/pages/subscription).
- SpotOn is designed for dogs at least 15 lb with a 10 in or larger neck (spotonfence.com).
- SpotOn does not advertise heart-rate or respiration sensing (spotonfence.com, as of September 2026).
As of September 2026. Official figures from spotonfence.com. Owner reports from Trustpilot, attributed and dated. Full links are in the sources list at the bottom of this page.
SpotOn Nova and Lucero, row by row
The same shared dataset as the full comparison page. Competitor cells use SpotOn figures as published on its own pages.
| Feature | PawPulse Lucero | SpotOn Nova Edition |
|---|---|---|
| LocationPositioning and connectivity each company lists | GPS + LTE, satellite-ready backup | GPS; live tracking with plan |
| Satellite messagingA direct satellite link, not GPS positioning | Satellite-ready backup (carrier and certification dependent) | Not advertised |
| Fence trainingWhat happens at the boundary | Vibration boundary cues, no shock | Tones, vibration, optional static |
| Heart rate + HRV | Contactless, every coat | Not advertised |
| Respiratory tracking | Continuous breathing monitoring | Not advertised |
| Breath analysis (VOC) | Breath VOC trends | Not advertised |
| Air quality context | Air-quality context | Not advertised |
| Breed-aware baselines | Prism Insights, 100+ breeds | Not advertised |
| Built-in calming | 3-mode Pulse Rhythm | Not advertised |
| Vet sharing | PawPulse Care | Not advertised |
| WeightOfficial published specs only; module or whole collar as labeled | 28 g module (strap extra) | No official figure found |
| Battery lifeEach company's official claim | Long-life; figures at launch | 33+ hours with tracking (Nova) |
| List price + plan (Sept 2026) | $5 reservation; pricing at launch | $999 list; tracking plan $7.49-9.95/mo |
SpotOn Nova Edition: the official specifics
- List price:
- $999 (Nova Edition)
- Battery (official):
- 33+ hours with tracking
- Boundary feedback:
- Tones, vibration, optional static (30 levels)
- Tracking plan:
- $7.49-9.95/mo; fence works without one
- Minimum dog size:
- 15 lb, 10 in neck
- Heart rate or respiration:
- Not advertised
Competitor figures come from official product pages as of September 2026. Where we found no official figure, the cell says so rather than estimating. A dash, cross mark, or "Not advertised" means we did not find that feature advertised on the maker's site as of September 2026. Weights are shown in grams; figures a maker lists in ounces are converted and rounded. Lucero pricing and battery figures are announced at launch; a $5 reservation holds your spot.
Weight on the neck
Lighter is kinder.
Especially for smaller dogs.
Your dog wears it every hour of every day, so every gram counts. SpotOn doesn't publish the Nova's weight. A Petful reviewer puts it at about half a pound (about 227 g), roughly eight times the Lucero module.
10 lb dog
SpotOn lists 15 lb as its minimum dog size, so no SpotOn bar is shown.
15 lb dog
30 lb dog
At 28 grams, the PawPulse module is about 0.6 percent of a 10 lb dog's body weight and about 0.2 percent of a 30 lb dog's. The strap adds weight on top. SpotOn does not publish the Nova's weight; the 227 g (about half a pound) figure is a Petful reviewer's estimate, not a SpotOn spec. The 3-5% band is a rule of thumb from wildlife-tracking research, not a veterinary standard. Scale runs 0 to 6 percent.
"About 0.5 lb."
"Carried himself differently while wearing it."
Worn every hour
A collar isn't a jacket you take off. Lucero is built to stay on day and night, so resting heart rate and breathing are captured while your dog sleeps. Every gram rides along the whole time.
Small airways, gentle gear
Veterinary guidance from VCA Animal Hospitals suggests a harness rather than a collar for dogs with tracheal collapse, a condition the American College of Veterinary Surgeons notes is most common in small breeds.
Pressure on the neck
Small studies have found that pulling against a collar can temporarily raise eye pressure in dogs, while a harness did not.
Manufacturers set their own minimum dog sizes: SpotOn lists 15 lb, Halo lists 10 lb, and Tractive DOG 6 lists 9 lb, per their product pages.
Ask your veterinarian if your dog has airway, eye, or neck conditions.
Sources
- Portugal and White (2018), Methods in Ecology and Evolution, dataset
- Wilson et al. (2021), Proc. R. Soc. B, animal lifestyle and tag mass limits
- Coughlin and van Heezik (2015), Wildlife Research, collar devices on cats
- Ridgway (2026), Frontiers in Veterinary Science, dog-worn equipment review
- VCA Animal Hospitals, Tracheal Collapse in Dogs
- American College of Veterinary Surgeons, Tracheal Collapse
- Pauli et al. (2006), JAAHA, collar vs harness and eye pressure
- Bailey et al. (2025), Veterinary Medicine and Science, collar vs harness
- SATELLAI buying guide, GPS collars for small dogs (satellai.com)
- Petful, SpotOn collar review (Coreen Saito)
- SpotOn GPS Fence product page (spotonfence.com)
- Halo Collar 4 product page (halocollar.com)
- Tractive DOG 6 product page (tractive.com)
- Reviewed, SpotOn GPS Dog Fence (Nova Edition) review
Accessed September 22, 2026. PawPulse is a consumer wellness product, not a medical device.
What Lucero adds
Lucero is for owners who want a boundary without shock and a collar that also knows how the dog is doing.
Vibration cues, never shock
SpotOn offers optional static correction with 30 levels. Lucero fence training uses vibration boundary cues only. There is no static setting to turn off, because there is no static at all.
Heart rate and breathing, not just location
SpotOn does not advertise heart-rate or respiration sensing. Lucero adds contactless heart rate, HRV, and breathing monitoring that works on every coat, compared with breed-aware baselines by Prism Insights.
A long-life battery
SpotOn states 33+ hours for the Nova Edition, while some owners on Trustpilot report 10 to 15 hours per charge, model not stated (reviews dated July to September 2026). Lucero is built for long life between charges, and PawPulse publishes its battery figures at launch.
A 28 g module
Lucero's sensing module is 28 g on its own (strap extra), built to stay on day and night so resting signals are captured while your dog sleeps. SpotOn doesn't publish the Nova's weight; a Petful reviewer puts it at about half a pound (about 227 g).
Calm and care built in
Pulse Rhythm, a three-mode calming haptic you can start from the app, and PawPulse Care sharing with your vet come built into Lucero. We did not find either advertised on the SpotOn site as of September 2026.
Two days a fence does not cover
A dog already outside the boundary, and a senior whose change is measured in months. Lucero is built for both.
The gate the landscaper left open
You find the yard empty at 6:40pm. The question is not only where she is, but how she is doing while you close the distance.
A GPS-only collar tells you
- Her last known position, refreshed as often as the plan allows.
- A geofence alert once she has already left the zone.
- A blank spot if she crosses a dead zone on the way.
- No sense of whether she is trotting, hiding, or exhausted.
Lucero tells you
- Live position with satellite-ready backup, designed so a dead zone does not end the trail at her last fix.
- Vibration boundary cues near the edge and an instant alert to your phone. No buried wire, no shock.
- Heart rate and respiration alongside the map, so you know whether she is moving steadily or running hot.
- Pulse Rhythm on arrival, plus air-quality and temperature context for wherever she ended up.
The slow change you only notice in hindsight
Your eleven-year-old is still eating, still greeting you at the door, and still doing the stairs. Something is just a little different.
A GPS-only collar tells you
- Daily step totals that drift down so gradually nobody reads it as a change.
- No heart-rate variability or breathing context, so the quiet hours stay invisible.
- No way to compare this month against last spring.
- A number for the walk, and nothing for the other twenty-three hours.
Lucero tells you
- Resting heart rate, heart-rate variability, and respiration trended week over week instead of day to day.
- Prism Insights comparing those trends to breed-aware baselines and to his own history.
- Rest and movement quality from the motion sensor, so shorter, more broken sleep shows up as a pattern.
- A shareable summary you can bring to your vet, who decides what it means.
PawPulse surfaces patterns and context for you and your vet. It is a consumer wellness product, not a medical device.
Other head-to-head comparisons
PawPulse vs Halo
A GPS fence collar listed at $599 as of September 2026, with optional static; heart-rate and breathing sensing are not advertised.
PawPulse vs Fi
Location and activity on a paid membership; heart-rate and breathing sensing are not advertised.
PawPulse vs Tractive
A GPS tracker listed at $79 as of September 2026, with resting heart-rate trends; HRV, breath VOC, and boundary cues are not advertised.
PawPulse vs SATELLAI
A 184 g location-first collar on a required plan; heart-rate sensing is not listed on its current site.
A boundary without shock. A collar that watches the dog.
Lucero pairs vibration-only fence training with contactless heart rate and breathing monitoring on a 28 g module (strap extra). Join the Waglist for launch news, or hold your spot with a $5 reservation.
A $5 Pioneer Reservation locks in 25% off Lucero's retail price and gets you into Kickstarter 72 hours early, and the $20 Pioneer VIP Reservation (only 50 spots) locks in 35% off and adds first-batch priority. Reward pricing will be announced closer to the CES 2027 campaign launch.
PawPulse vs SpotOn
Questions about PawPulse and SpotOn.
Yes. PawPulse Lucero covers the boundary with fence training that uses vibration cues and never static shock, then adds contactless heart rate, HRV, and breathing monitoring, breath VOC and air-quality context, Pulse Rhythm calming, and PawPulse Care vet sharing. SpotOn Nova is a GPS fence with optional static correction.
No. Lucero fence training uses vibration cues near the boundary plus an alert to your phone. There is no static or shock mode on the collar. SpotOn states its collar uses warning tones, vibration, and optional static correction with 30 levels.
SpotOn does not advertise heart-rate or respiration sensing as of September 2026. Lucero adds contactless heart rate, HRV, and breathing monitoring that works on every coat, compared with breed-aware baselines by Prism Insights.
SpotOn states the Nova Edition runs at least 33 hours with tracking enabled. Some owners on Trustpilot report 10 to 15 hours per charge, model not stated (reviews dated July to September 2026). Lucero is built for long life between charges, and PawPulse publishes battery figures at launch.
SpotOn says its fence works without a subscription, while live tracking requires a plan from $7.49 to $9.95 per month as of September 2026. PawPulse announces plan details at launch, and a $5 Pioneer Reservation (25% off Lucero's retail price), or $20 VIP (35% off, only 50 spots), holds your spot today.
For small dogs, it can be. SpotOn sets a 15 lb minimum and does not publish the Nova's weight; a Petful reviewer puts it at about half a pound (about 227 g). Lucero's sensing module is 28 g (strap extra), built to be worn day and night. For dogs with tracheal collapse, common in small breeds, VCA Animal Hospitals suggests a harness rather than a collar.
PawPulse announces device and plan pricing at launch, so we do not print a number that could change. A $5 Pioneer Reservation (25% off Lucero's retail price), or $20 VIP (35% off, only 50 spots), holds your spot until then. SpotOn lists the Nova Edition at $999 as of September 2026.
Sources (accessed September 22, 2026)
- SpotOn GPS Fence, Nova Edition product page (spotonfence.com)
- SpotOn, Introducing Nova Edition (Nova vs Omni) (spotonfence.com)
- SpotOn subscription plans (spotonfence.com)
- Trustpilot, SpotOn owner reviews mentioning battery (trustpilot.com)
- Petful, SpotOn collar review by Coreen Saito (updated August 17, 2026)
Competitor names and trademarks belong to their owners and are used only to identify their products. Owner reports are individual experiences, not measurements. PawPulse is a consumer wellness product, not a medical device.
